Focal Point
Working With Report Variables

This topic can be found at:
https://forums.informationbuilders.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/7971057331/m/1591097472

March 06, 2008, 08:47 AM
SamF
Working With Report Variables
Greetings very helpful folks out there!

I hope I'm posting in the correct Forum this time. If I'm not, please let me know and I'll move ASAP! As you've probably figured out by now, I am a newbie! I am stuck on something that is, I'm sure, very simple.

I am creating a report for which the customer enters @FromDate and @ToDate Report Variables.

I have 2 questions, both involving the use of these Report Variables.

-----------
Question 1:
-----------
I want to create a 'Month' column (set as 'By') as the leftmost column of my report that:
....A. Will start with the month of the @FromDate
....B. End with the month of the @ToDate

Where in the Developer Studio Tool do I specify steps A & B above for my Month column?

-----------
Question 2:
-----------
On my report I want to display a Total column whose calculation logic is as follows:

IF TABLE.VirtualColumn = 1 AND
(TABLE.DateColumn GE @FromDate AND TABLE.DateColumn LE @ToDate)
THEN 1
ELSE 0

Where/how do I insert the Date Comparison logic in the Developer Studio Tool?

Thanks in advance for your help!
Sam

WebFOCUS 7.6.4
Developer Studio on Windows XP Professional, Version 2002, Service Pack 2
Output: PDF
March 06, 2008, 09:01 AM
Leah
Sam,

It depends on whether you are selecting data or defining data. Have you reviewed the Developer Studio documents. You also might want to search the on-line help for tips. Without knowing MASTER files and so on, it is difficult to answer what you ask.

Question 1 - you need to use the 'where' assistant and set up your selection as paramaters to generate the prompts for the dates.

Question 2 - look into doing 'defines' as it appears you want a record by record item. Look into a 'compute' if it is withing your sort options.