Focal Point
[CLOSED] WF v8 Source Control??

This topic can be found at:
https://forums.informationbuilders.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/7971057331/m/2067060876

August 26, 2015, 01:33 PM
Craig R.
[CLOSED] WF v8 Source Control??
OK, so I'm fairly new to the v8 party. (A couple months, to be exact, as we've been migrating our apps from v7.7 to v8.1.04.) I've been using App Studio when I can, and Dev Studio as I discover something AS simply can't handle with the aplomb we were assured would be there(!).

I'm now looking into the source control aspect, which, of course, is still there in Dev Studio. NOT finding it in App Studio, though. Just read a post which indicates that this feature won't appear on the AS scene until v8.2! Can anyone chime in on how they're coping with this fundamental need in their environment??

Craig

This message has been edited. Last edited by: Craig R.,

v8.1.04, 64-bit Windows (Reporting Server), Apache Tomcat (Web/App Server), HTML, PDF, AHTML, Excel outputs
August 26, 2015, 06:11 PM
Waz
We are waiting for 8.2. Not much else that can be done. We do export and import to move from DEV to UAT to Prod, and keep backups just in case.

Waz...

Prod:WebFOCUS 7.6.10/8.1.04Upgrade:WebFOCUS 8.2.07OS:LinuxOutputs:HTML, PDF, Excel, PPT
In Focus since 1984
Pity the lost knowledge of an old programmer!

August 27, 2015, 07:03 AM
MAdams1
We use to use projects and Deploy in Dev Studio but that was deprecated in App Studio.....they said not enough people used it. So now in v8 we develop everything in Content folders and not in projects and use change management. Plus we have to move everything from the existing projects to Content folders. It's a huge pain! Good luck!

WebFOCUS Server 8.1.05
Windows 2008 Server
WebFOCUS AppStudio 8.1.05
Windows 7 Professional
IE 11 and Chrome Version 43.0.2357.124 m.
Mostly HTML, PDF, Excel, and AHTML
August 27, 2015, 06:54 PM
StuBouyer
Missing source control in AS is one of my biggest annoyances at present.