Focal Point
[SOLVED] COBOL Paragraphs

This topic can be found at:
https://forums.informationbuilders.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/7971057331/m/4717044036

April 26, 2013, 12:06 PM
M Ward
[SOLVED] COBOL Paragraphs
Hello.

I have been a COBOL programmer for years; so I am relatively new to Focus/WebFOCUS. Also,this is my first time posting to this site. Please bear with me.

My office uses Focus to create an extract from an IMS database. Because we have had instances of bad data adversely affecting another system, my supervisor wants me to write program to validate the data. If I could write it in COBOL, it would be done in nothing flat; however, he wants me to use Focus.

After trial and error, I came up with a method of validating each field separately within a set of "DEFINE" and "TABLE" statements. This means that I have to read the extract multiple times. For example: If each record contains five fields, and there are ten records in the file, then the file would be read fifty times.

There must be a more efficient way of doing this, a way to process all of the fields in a single pass without creating a gigantic and wieldly DEFINE. I am hoping that someone on this forum can help me.

Thank you.

This message has been edited. Last edited by: <Kathryn Henning>,

8.8.09 - z/Linux (WF, Report Caster, Report Library).
Iway FFS on MVS (HFS)
April 26, 2013, 12:42 PM
Alan B
This sounds all wrong to me. It is quite difficult to read a single record at a time with Focus. Maybe read a single field at a time, but even that sounds bad.

Is it possible to give more details of your approach?

Alan.
WF 7.705/8.007
April 26, 2013, 01:10 PM
M Ward
In the DEFINE, I place all of the validations I require for a given field, then set an error indicator if any of the validations fail.