Focal Point
Value for Join 'FROM' Field Out of Sequence

This topic can be found at:
https://forums.informationbuilders.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/7971057331/m/7161053372

February 25, 2008, 04:25 PM
VivaVox
Value for Join 'FROM' Field Out of Sequence
Hello,

I am pretty new to Webfocus and I am hoping someone here can help me with the problem I am having with couple of reports. It seams that when we updated to 7.6.2 that webfocus got more sensitive. Anyways, when I am trying to join to hold files I am getting the above error message (FOC1070). Obviously, there is more to the code, but I am unsure if even this help in determening the right solution for this.

[SET ASNAMES = ON
TABLE FILE EVENT
SUM
STECUC
STEHBL
STECT#
LST.STEPNM AS 'STEPNM'
LST.STETXT AS 'STETXT'
LST.STESQD AS 'STESQD'
LST.STESQT AS 'STESQT'
BY STECUC NOPRINT
BY STEHBL NOPRINT
BY STECT# NOPRINT
ON TABLE HOLD AS RAIL_EVENTS
-*ON TABLE PCHOLD FORMAT EXL2K
END
-*-EXIT
-**********************************************************************************
JOIN CLEAR *

SET ALL=ON

JOIN CNEE AND HBL AND CNTR# IN ACTIVITY
TO ALL STECUC AND STEHBL AND STECT# IN RAIL_EVENTS AS J1
END

Thanks in advance,

Natalija

WF- 7.6.2 OS-Windows XP Output - EXL2K
February 25, 2008, 04:48 PM
Leah
quote:
STECUC
STEHBL
STECT#
LST.STEPNM AS 'STEPNM'
LST.STETXT AS 'STETXT'
LST.STESQD AS 'STESQD'
LST.STESQT AS 'STESQT'
BY STECUC NOPRINT
BY STEHBL NOPRINT
BY STECT# NOPRINT

Without seeing the original file, try taking the noprint off the BY statements since you are using SUM you don't need to restate the items if you are doing a holdfile.

Also, are there multiple records in ACTIVITY for each or is it a one to one relationship?

Leah
February 25, 2008, 05:04 PM
FrankDutch
Natalja

If you want to join two tables a simple "hold" would not work.
Change it to

ON TABLE HOLD AS RAIL_EVENTS FORMAT FOCUS INDEX STECUC STEHBL STECT#

Or an other format that is the same as the format of your host table.