Focal Point
Self service or Servlet Mode

This topic can be found at:
https://forums.informationbuilders.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/7971057331/m/5141076512

February 28, 2007, 03:05 PM
GeorgeMeng
Self service or Servlet Mode
Hi All,

I am new to IBI world.
When I look around in this board, some people's environment is Servlet Mode while some other people using Self service.

What is the difference of the two?

Thanks very much!

George

WebFocus Developer Studio 7.6.0/BW 3.5/Servlet mode
February 28, 2007, 04:03 PM
mgrackin
George,

Welcome to the IBI world. You are actually comparing apples to oranges. Self Serv mode is a different animal from Servlet mode.

There are three modes that process WebFOCUS requests:

CGI, ISAPI (Windows) and Servlet Mode

The mode determines what part of the WebFOCUS Client will service requests. This is a very simplified answer. This really has to do with how WebFOCUS works with the Web Server.

Self Service is a type of application. This would be compared to MRE (Managed Reporting Environment) which requires a login whereas Self Service does not.

You can create a Self Service application that sends report request to WebFOCUS in any of the three modes.

I hope this helps.

Thanks!

Mickey

FOCUS/WebFOCUS 1990 - 2011
February 28, 2007, 04:04 PM
Francis Mariani
Actually, those are two different subject areas.

WebFOCUS can be called via CGI or via Servlet.

WebFOCUS can be Self-Service or in the Managed Reporting Environment (MRE).

Do you have a more specific question we can help you with?

Francis

Give me code, or give me retirement. In FOCUS since 1991

Production: WF 7.7.05M, Dev Studio, BID, MRE, WebSphere, DB2 / Test: WF 8.1.05M, App Studio, BI Portal, Report Caster, jQuery, HighCharts, Apache Tomcat, MS SQL Server
February 28, 2007, 04:05 PM
Francis Mariani
There you go - Mickey has said it better than me Smiler

Francis

Give me code, or give me retirement. In FOCUS since 1991