Focal Point
Tables Manipulation

This topic can be found at:
https://forums.informationbuilders.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/7971057331/m/6031085662

January 17, 2008, 09:24 AM
L_G
Tables Manipulation
Hi All,

Sorry about the question but I am new in the Developer Studio...

Do you now how I can manipulate the tables (mas files)? I need to iterate through the tables data, to create new tables and so on...

Currently I am reading the Maintain documentation but I still do not know whether it will help me.

Can somebody help me?

Thanks in advance!

WebFOCUS 7.6
Windows 2000
Output: HTML, PDF
January 17, 2008, 09:37 AM
FrankDutch
L_G

I would suggest to find your nearest IBI office and book a starter course.

"Manipulate" master files ? Why?

Just start with some basic reports on the CAR database.
You ask something on Developer Studio and you read the Maintain manual. It's like starting Excel on your PC and read the helpfile for Powerpoint.

Frank

prod: WF 7.6.10 platform Windows,
databases: msSQL2000, msSQL2005, RMS, Oracle, Sybase,IE7
test: WF 7.6.10 on the same platform and databases,IE7

January 17, 2008, 10:06 AM
L_G
Thanks for the answer FrankDutch

I have created a simple report that joins two tables(synonyms) and print some fields.

I need to find a flexible way to cultivate the tables (synonyms) data.

For example if you have the following tables:

EMPLOYEE
----------------
id
names
salary
type_id

EMPLOYEE_TYPE
----------------
id
type
description

I want to create another table(synonyms) that will be used as output for the report:

RESULT
--------------
employee_name
employee_type
salary
(and some other column that is not related to the EMPLOYEE and TYPE tables)

I know that I can join the tables and to use some Temporary field to create this report but I want to bring out the logic...

I hope the information above is not confused...

WebFOCUS 7.6
Windows 2000
January 17, 2008, 10:19 AM
GinnyJakes