Focal Point
[SOLVED] How to use DECODE to assign null values?

This topic can be found at:
https://forums.informationbuilders.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/7971057331/m/6307009826

February 20, 2013, 10:40 AM
ok
[SOLVED] How to use DECODE to assign null values?
I'm a webfocus newbie and am having trouble with getting a DECODE statement to work the way I would like it to.

TOTALPOINTS/I6 = DECODE QUESTION(Green 100 Red 0);

Basically for the QUESTION data set there are possible responses of "Green", "Red", and a few others. For any value QUESTION besides Green and Red, I would like TOTALPOINTS to be a null value.

The way it works now, if there is a question that is not green or red, the decode statement still presents you with a 0 as the result. I would like it to be NULL.

I'm having trouble accomplishing this and have reviewed the help documentation and searched through the forum without luck. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

This message has been edited. Last edited by: Kerry,

WebFOCUS 7.6
Windows, All Outputs
February 20, 2013, 11:12 AM
Francis Mariani
Putting the MISSING keyword in a DECODE crashes the agent, so you could change the DECODE to a series of IF ELSE statements:

TABLE FILE CAR
PRINT 
COUNTRY
COMPUTE TOTALPOINTS/I6 MISSING ON = 
-*DECODE COUNTRY('ENGLAND' 100 'ITALY' 0 ELSE MISSING);
IF COUNTRY EQ 'ENGLAND' THEN 100 ELSE IF COUNTRY EQ 'ITALY' THEN 0 ELSE MISSING;
END

Francis

Give me code, or give me retirement. In FOCUS since 1991

Production: WF 7.7.05M, Dev Studio, BID, MRE, WebSphere, DB2 / Test: WF 8.1.05M, App Studio, BI Portal, Report Caster, jQuery, HighCharts, Apache Tomcat, MS SQL Server
February 21, 2013, 01:21 AM
FrankDutch
Or do the decode with an extra ...
ELSE -1...
And in an second define change the minus 1 to a missing ..

Frank

prod: WF 7.6.10 platform Windows,
databases: msSQL2000, msSQL2005, RMS, Oracle, Sybase,IE7
test: WF 7.6.10 on the same platform and databases,IE7

February 27, 2013, 03:50 PM
ok