Focal Point
dynamic By fields

This topic can be found at:
https://forums.informationbuilders.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/7971057331/m/8281078382

May 12, 2008, 02:30 PM
shravan
dynamic By fields
Hi,

I am new to WebFOCUS. I am trying to group by/ total dynamically depending on the parameters passed.

For example:
If I pass &GROUPBY = 1 as a parameter, then I want the report to have "Region" as By field(and subtotal accordingly).
&GROUPBY = 2 then 'Area'(as By field)
&GROUPBY = 3 then 'Branch'(as By field)
&GROUPBY = 4 then 'Businsess'(as By field)...etc.,.

Is there a way to this ?

Thanks.

7.7.03, Windows 7, SQL Server 2005
May 12, 2008, 02:37 PM
RSquared
Shravan,

You can do this by coding such as
-SET &BYSORT=IF &GROUPBY EQ '1' THEN 'Region'
- ELSE IF IF &GROUPBY EQ '2' THEN 'Area' ETC.

Then in your .fex do a
PRINT FIELD1 ...
BY &SORTBY.

WF 7.6.11
Oracle
WebSphere
Windows NT-5.2 x86 32bit
May 12, 2008, 02:38 PM
Gizmo
If the GROUPBY parameter contains the name of the field, then it would be as simple as asigning &GROUPBY to be the sort field. If GROUPBY is a number, you will have to create a new parameter with the actual name.

From the painter, you can then drag the parameter onto the report just as it were another field.

-SET &SORTFLD = DECODE &GROUPBY (1 'REGION'
-  2 'AREA' 3 'BRANCH' 4 'BUSINESS');

TABLE FILE myfile
PRINT
  field1
  field2
BY &SORTFLD
END

Windows: WF 7.6.2: SQL Server 2008 R2
May 12, 2008, 04:00 PM
shravan
It works ! Thanks RSquared. Thanks Gizmo. It was great help !

I may have another question. If the user can pass 1,2 & 3 the report should be able to group by Region then by Area and then by Branch. I am going to try this by myself (and may be come back Smiler).

May 13, 2008, 01:54 PM
shravan
I am not able to find the correct syntax to sort by mutliple fields dynamically.