Focal Point
[CLOSED]Flat File Master File from Version 7.7 Doesn't work in Version 8.0

This topic can be found at:
https://forums.informationbuilders.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/7971057331/m/9577000386

July 06, 2016, 10:32 AM
John_Edwards
[CLOSED]Flat File Master File from Version 7.7 Doesn't work in Version 8.0
I have a master file that connects to a flat file, that's been in use in Version 7.7 for years. I've moved it to Version 8 and it's skipping characters. Here's a sample:

FILENAME=TARIS_IMPORT, SUFFIX=FIX     ,
    DATASET=C:\T_DRIVE\WebFocusFTP\TarisData\TARISDLY.TXT, $
  SEGMENT=TARIS_IMPORT, SEGTYPE=S0, $
    FIELDNAME=RECORD_TYPE, USAGE=A2, ACTUAL=A2, $
    FIELDNAME=TRANS_TYPE, USAGE=A2, ACTUAL=A2, $
    FIELDNAME=TRANS_LOCATION_ID, USAGE=A3, ACTUAL=A3, $
    FIELDNAME=TRANS_OPER_ID, USAGE=A3, ACTUAL=A3, $
    FIELDNAME=TRANS_JULIAN_YY, USAGE=A2, ACTUAL=A2, $
    FIELDNAME=TRANS_JULIAN_DDD, USAGE=A3, ACTUAL=A3, $
    FIELDNAME=TRANS_SEQ_POSITION, USAGE=A3, ACTUAL=A3, $
    FIELDNAME=TRANS_DATE, USAGE=A10, ACTUAL=A10, $
    FIELDNAME=TRANS_TIME, USAGE=A6, ACTUAL=A6, $
    FIELDNAME=EFFECTIVE_DATE, USAGE=A10, ACTUAL=A10, $
    FIELDNAME=WORKSTATION_ID, USAGE=A2, ACTUAL=A2, $
    FIELDNAME=MULTIPLE_IND, USAGE=A1, ACTUAL=A1, $
    FIELDNAME=LIEN_REC_FLAG, USAGE=A1, ACTUAL=A1, $
    FIELDNAME=VOID_CORR_FLAG, USAGE=A1, ACTUAL=A1, $

This is fixed-column data where each field occupies its space on the data line. The first field works correctly, pulling the first two characters. The second field pulls characters 7 and 8 instead of 3 and 4. The fields that follow skip various numbers of characters each time.

When I try to build the mfd from scratch using the synonym builder I get the exact same sort of formatting, and get the exact same error when I run.

Did I change a setting on the server back in 2012 that fixes this and don't remember? Or does Version 8 just do things differently and I'm missing something?